Tags

, , , ,

Hello and welcome to Romance Recipes!  Every Thursday I will introduce you to a new author and a new recipe!  Two of my favorite things!  This week I am bringing you author, Maris Soule , and her recipe for Beef Stew along with an introduction to her book, The Crows.  Please join me in welcoming Maris and savor her recipe for Beef Stew as you read about her new book!

 

Maris Soule has had 25 romances published by Harlequin, Silhouette, and Bantam Loveswept, several of them winning awards, and 2 mysteries published by Five Star Mysteries. Her two mysteries include romantic elements and take place in rural Michigan. One thing Maris and P.J. Benson (the main protagonist in The Crows and As the Crow Flies) have in common is both own a Rhodesian Ridgeback. What a coincidence.

BEEF STEW* (Called humble pie by some who need to eat crow)

2 Tbsp olive oil

1- 1 ½ lb beef (chuck or round) cut into bite-size pieces

2 Tbsp flour

½ large sweet onion or 2 med, cut into ½” pieces

2 cloves garlic, crushed

2 stalks celery, cut into ½” pieces

4 med. Carrots, washed but not peeled, cut into ½” pieces

4 medium potatoes, peeled & cubed

1-2 cups water + 1 beef bouillon cube or 1 can beef broth

¼ tsp dried basil or 2-3 fresh leaves

½ tsp thyme or sprig of fresh

1 bay leaf

salt & pepper to taste

1. Brown beef cubes in oil. When partially browned, add onions and sauté until clear.

2. Dust meat & onions with flour. Sauté another minute or two.

3. Add water & beef bouillon cube or can of beef broth. Add more water as needed.

4. Add garlic, celery, carrots, potatoes, basil, thyme, bay leaf and salt and pepper.

5. Bring to boil, then turn heat down. Simmer for one to two hours or until meat is tender.

6. Serve with French bread.

Serves six. (Or 2 if my husband is really hungry.)

* Nora’s secret ingredient has been left out of this recipe.

 

Excerpt from The Crows by Maris Soule

“Brought you something,” she said, coming up the steps. “You can call it humble pie. I’ve come to eat crow.”

I looked into the pot. I’ll admit, I half expected to see a crow’s head. Instead, I saw chunks of meat, carrots, and potatoes.

“It’s a stew. Beef stew,” Nora said. “Rose made it. She makes great stews, and we got talking about how I acted Saturday night.” Nora stared down at the pot of stew. “Rose said I owed you an apology and that you might appreciate having someone bring you dinner since you’re so busy right now with taxes and all.”

“I do appreciate this.” If Rose’s stew was as good as her cooking Saturday night, it would be delicious. And since I hadn’t even thought about dinner and didn’t have anything out of the freezer—or even in the refrigerator—an already prepared meal was a Godsend.

Nora held out the ceramic pot. “So enjoy.”

It sounded like an order, and I didn’t feel I’d received a humble apology, but I decided I’d take what Nora was offering. I thanked her, adding that I really enjoyed playing cards at her house Saturday night. Nora grunted a response, then stepped back…

Of course, the next morning, when my heroine, P.J. Benson, is in the hospital, she’s not as appreciative of Nora’s stew…but I’ve made this stew many times with no ill effects, so I hope you enjoy–Maris

The Crows was originally released in hardcover by Five Star Mysteries, a subsidiary of Gale/Cengage Learning in 2007. It is now available as an e-book and in Trade Paperback at Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=The+Crows%2BMaris+Soule&x=0&y=0

 

Thanks for joining us today for another great Romance Recipes!  I hope you’ll come back next week to meet another new author and try another wonderful recipe and book!

Have a great day!

 

 

