Tags

, , ,

Hello and welcome to Romance Recipes! Every Thursday and Friday I will introduce you to a new author and a new recipe! Two of my favorite things! This week I am bringing you author, Diane Burton, and her recipe for Streusel Coffee Cake along with an introduction to her book, Switched.  Please join me in welcoming Diane and savor her recipe for Streusel Coffee Cake as you read about her fabulous book!

Thanks for having me back, Jennifer. Today, I’m going to share another quick and easy recipe. I can’t lay credit for this one. It’s from my mom and now it’s a staple at our house whenever we have company . . . and even when we don’t. <g>

Streusel Coffee Cake

1 package yellow cake mix

1/4 cup firm butter

1 cup brown sugar (packed)

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups (12 oz) sour cream

Heat oven to 350°. Spray a 13x9x2 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray (or grease and flour the pan). Measure 2/3 cup dry cake mix into small bowl. Cut in butter until crumbly. Mix in brown sugar and walnuts. This will be the topping. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat eggs lightly with fork; stir in sour cream. Blend in remaining dry cake mix, scraping bowl often. (Batter will be thick and slightly lumpy.) Pour half of the batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle half the topping over the batter. Spoon and gently spread remaining batter in pan, top with remaining topping mix. Bake 40-45 minutes at 350°.

Jessie, in my first novel Switched, likes quick and easy. Running a fulltime small business doesn’t leave her much time to cook. This recipe could be one of her beloved grandmother’s. Handing down recipes from one generation to another is way of keeping traditions alive. Every time Jessie makes this recipe I imagine it reminds her of the good times she had with her Gram. Just as I am reminded of the good times I had with Mom.

Blurb for Switched:

The adventure begins . . .

What’s worse than being kidnapped by aliens? Being kidnapped by mistake. When wise-cracking Jessie Wyndom is beamed from her Michigan farmhouse to an Alliance starship, she meets a regular Mr. Spock. Captain Marcus Viator’s well-organized life is turned upside down by a free-spirited Terran. When sabotage erupts, Marcus and Jessie must work together to protect the crew and themselves. As their attraction grows, treachery and violence force them into decisions that could separate them forever.

Excerpt from Switched:

A tall man in a burgundy jumpsuit with a silver collar strode into the room. Oo-whee. What a hunk. Raven black hair and brows. A blade-straight nose and a strong jaw. No five o’clock shadow for this guy. He had soot-black lashes to die for and silver eyes. Hold on. Silver eyes? She shivered at their intensity. Not in fear but in a purely feminine reaction. Yowza. Get me a fan.

“My name is Captain Marcus Aurelius Viator of the Alliance starship Freedom. This is Ensign Drakus, a member of our Security team.” The tall man indicated his considerably shorter companion.

Intent on the hunk, Jessie hadn’t even noticed the little guy who climbed on a step and peered into the pedestal monitor. She stretched out her hand. “Hi, I’m—”

“Captain. I checked the coordinates in the booth.” Drakus nodded to the upper right wall. “I just verified them here. This fem was transported from a residence outside Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA. If she is the owner, her name is Jessica Marie Wyndom. Age: twenty-nine. Occupation: repairman.”

“Transported?” She snorted. “Ri-ight. Okay, I’ll play along. But, c’mon, guys, let’s be PC. I’m a repairperson. So, is there a secret salute I should know?” She dropped her hand and glanced at the little guy. “A troll. Nice costume, kid. Aren’t you a little young to be one of my nerdy brother’s friends?”

The man who called himself Captain Viator raised a finely-sculpted black eyebrow. “Ensign Drakus is not a child. He is a Trucanian.”

She snorted again. “From the planet Trucania, I suppose.”

“The planet Trucan,” the troll corrected with glee.

“Right. And I’ve been kidnapped by aliens.” She rolled her eyes. “Give me a break. I’m not going to fall for that gag. I recognize Tim’s handiwork here.”

“Captain, she does not believe—”

The tall man held up his hand. “It is better that she not.”

An uneasy feeling settled in the pit of her stomach. She shook it off. “I like your outfit, big guy. Pretty authentic looking.” Hobbling on one shoe, she circled the Captain, examining him. “You’re quite an improvement over the geeks Tim usually hangs with.” She stopped behind him. “Great buns.”

Switched was originally published in 2001. This out of print book is now available as an e-book at  Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords

The sequel, Switched, Too, is also available as an e-book. The print version will be released later this month.

Meet Diane:

Diane Burton combines her love of mystery, adventure, science fiction and romance into writing romantic fiction. She’s a member of Romance Writers of America as well as the Mid-Michigan, Fantasy, Futuristic & Paranormal and Young Adult RWA chapters. She is the author of the Switched series, about twins exchanging places—from Earth to a starship and the reverse. The first two books, Switched and Switched, Too, are available as e-books. The concluding book in the Switched series will be available in 2013. Diane is a contributor to the anthology How I Met My Husband, which is available free at Amazon and other online retailers. She and her husband live in Michigan. They have two children and two grandchildren.

Find Diane:

website: www.dianeburton.com

blog: http://dianeburton.blogspot.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/dmburton72

Facebook: Diane Burton – Author

Thank you for joining us for another Romance Recipe! I hope you’ll stop by next week to meet another author, try a new recipe and read a new book!

