Tags

, , ,

Hello and welcome to Romance Recipes! Every Thursday and Friday I will introduce you to a new author and a new recipe! Two of my favorite things! This week I am bringing you author, Elise Marion, and her recipe for Mama’s Pound Cake (4Ways) along with an introduction to her contemporary/rubenesque romance, Cake. Please join me in welcoming Elise and savor her recipe for Mama’s Pound Cake as you read about her new book!

 

One thing my very large, extended family knows how to do is get together and eat. Every occasion warrants a huge, belt-busting meal, complete with deserts that leave us all feeling a little guilty when it’s all over. I will admit, that while my recent Romance release, Cake is about a pastry chef, I don’t do a lot of baking myself. I love eating and spend a lot of time in the kitchen, but I’d rather stir a pot then worry about a cake falling. However, I did grow up with a mama who bakes and her southern pound cakes are the best! I’m talking melt-in-your mouth, sweet and rich!

In order to stick with the theme of my book for this post, I thought that a cake recipe would be most appropriate, so I am sharing with you an easy, customizable pound cake recipe. Start with the base recipe and play with 4 four different flavors for a different result every time!

 

Mama’s Pound Cake (4 Ways)

Base Recipe:

6 eggs

3 sticks of butter (softened at room temperature)

3 cups of flour

3 cups of sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Juice of 2 lemons

Confectioner’s sugar

Variations:

For plain pound cake, add 1 cup milk

For cream cheese pound cake, add 8oz of cream cheese (softened at room temperature)

For whipping cream pound cake, add ½ pint of whipping cream

For 7-up pound cake, add ¾ cup of 7-Up soda

 

Instructions:

In a large mixing bowl, combine butter, eggs, sugar and vanilla extract. Add flavoring (i.e. milk, soda, cream cheese or whipping cream) and beat until smooth. Fold flour in one cup at a time until batter has a smooth consistency.

Pour batter into a bunt cake pan that has been liberally sprayed with vegetable or canola oil spray. Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes, or until inserted fork comes out clean.

For icing:

Juice two lemons and stir in confectioner’s sugar until icing is at desired consistency. Drizzle over the top of the pound cake.

**The icing is something that you can play with. Use as many lemons as you like but remember a little of the juice goes a long way. Some prefer to get just drizzle over the top of the cake. Others like to completely coat the top of the cake. This is up to the baker’s discretion. If you find that your icing is too tart, add more confectioner’s sugar**

Blurb:

Wedding planner Taylor Vaughn specializes in magical moments. So when her best friend asks her to plan his wedding, the task should have come as simply to her as all the others. There’s only one problem……she is desperately in love with the groom.

Caleb has always been Taylor’s best friend as well as her deepest and most secret desire. Her hopes that he will someday come to love her back are dashed on the day he brings his new fiancé into their lives. While the misery of losing the man she loves to another woman looms over her, she doesn’t expect to find her head turned by the most unlikely of strangers.

Ethan Young, cake decorator, is everything a woman could want in a man: handsome, charismatic, and has a way with icing! When she finds herself feeling more than simple attraction for the sexy baker, her heart is torn in two between the man she’s always loved and the man who’s slowly stealing her heart.

 

Excerpt:

“Good. That’s good, Taylor.”

It really was good. Who knew cake decorating could be so arousing? With Ethan’s hard body pressed up against my back and his arms on either side of me, guiding the rolling pin in my hands, I was about ready to melt into a puddle on the floor. His breath tickled my neck as he peered over my shoulder, watching as the thick circle of Italian butter cream flavored fondant icing spread beneath the rolling pin. He’d already showed me how to apply a liberal layer of smooth frosting so expertly to the cake that it looked painted on. Now we were rolling out the flavored and ivory-tinted fondant covering to give the cake a smooth canvas for decorating. His hips ground against my bottom and his muscles bunched and rolled against my back as we moved together, smoothing out the dough until the circle had grown wide enough to drape over the cake’s bottom layer.

“Now for the tricky part,” he said as his body left mine. Disappointment stabbed through me as cold air whispered at my back. Fortunately we were only on the bottom layer.

Focus Taylor!

The Jackson wedding, tomorrow; right.

We worked together to drape the fondant over the rolling pin and place it over the cake’s bottom layer as he’d instructed me earlier. I stood back and watched as he worked, running his strong hands over it until was smooth as a marble countertop. I watched, enthralled by the delicate work of such large hands, as he deftly cut the excess fondant icing from the bottom of the cake.

“Ready for layer two?” he asked as he put his kitchen scissors and paring knife aside.

Thinking of his body pressed so perfectly up against mine once again, I grinned. “You bet.”

Now that I knew what to do with the fondant, we sped through the other three layers without incident. Ethan even let me smooth out the top layer myself. I took a seat at the stool, not wanting to mess up the next step. I contented myself with watching him as he used plastic dowel rods to stack the layers until they were a complete tower of four.

As he put the finishing decorative touches on the cake, it seemed as if everything else disappeared for him. I even think he forgot I was there, which was fine as I got to see an artist truly at work. As he worked with a thin-tipped piping bag to etch the ivory icing with a yellow cornelli lace pattern, his eyebrows furrowed together and his eyes flashed with concentration. His jaw clenched and his lips pursed, he moved swiftly and efficiently with the piping bag until the ivory cake looked as if someone had draped a yellow lace doily over it. He nodded in satisfaction as he stood back, eyeing the cornelli lace and yellow fondant ribbons he’d used to decorate each layer.

“You have the cake topper, right?” he asked, once the haze of his artistic trance had faded. I blinked and rubbed my eyes, realizing for the first time that it was well past two in the morning.

“I’ll have it in the morning when I meet the florist at the venue. It’s made from fresh lilies to match the bouquets.”

He nodded and rubbed a hand over his tired face. “Perfect. Thanks for the help.”

“It’s not as if you needed me,” I said as I hopped down from my barstool. He circled the counter toward me and wrapped one arm around my waist.

“You seemed to be in your own world there for a while,” I said as he ran a hand through my hair. “I love how passionate you are about what you do.”

His hand cupped my face as his thumb traced the contours of my lips. “I’m passionate about a lot of other things,” he murmured as he gazed down at me. He pressed his thumb against my lower lip. I drew the soft pad of his thumb in between my lips, my tongue swirling around the thick digit. His taste mingled with that of the icing. He groaned and snatched his thumb away to kiss me.

 

Author Bio:

Elise Marion is a lover books and has a special place in her heart for sweet and sensual romance. Writing about love across all walks of life is her passion, as is reaching people through the written word. The Army wife and stay-at-home mother of two spends most of her time taking care of her children. Her second job includes writing stories about characters that people can fall in love with. When the Texas native isn’t caring for her family or writing, you can usually find her with her nose in a book, singing loudly, or cooking up something new in the kitchen.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Cake-ebook/dp/B008GITQ58/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1342116812&sr=8-9&keywords=elise+marion

Barnes and Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cake-elise-marion/1111917884?ean=2940014681025

All Romance ebooks http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-cake-857412-149.html

 

Author Links

Website: www.elisemarion.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/elisemarion86

Twitter: https://twitter.com/elise_marion

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/elise_marion

Thank you for joining us for another Romance Recipe! I hope you’ll stop by next week to meet another author, try a new recipe and read a new book!

 

