Tags

, , , , ,

Babette james coverHello and welcome to Romance Recipes where I am happy to introduce you to a new author and a new recipe! Two of my favorite things! Today I am bringing you author, Babette James, and her recipe for Babette’s Vegan Biscuits along with an introduction to her contemporary romance, Summertime Dream. Please join me in welcoming Babette and savor her recipe for Babette as you read about her new book!

Babette’s Vegan Biscuits

In Summertime Dream, biscuits make an appearance at Christopher and Margie’s first dinner together and later on, Christopher serves Margie fresh baked biscuits for breakfast. (Store bought, but it’s the thought that counts, right?) I love homemade biscuits, but I have a dairy allergy, and while I miss the days of buttermilk biscuits loaded with butter, here’s my recipe that satisfies the craving for fluffy, flaky rolled biscuits:

Preheat oven to 450° F and have an ungreased baking pan ready. I use a large pie plate.

Sift together:

2 cups all purpose flour

2 ½ teaspoon baking powderBabette James recipe pic

½ teaspoon salt

Cut in with pastry blender:

6 tablespoons cold Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks (cut into pieces)

Continue to cut in until the largest pieces are the size of peas. Don’t overwork or let the butter melt.

Add in all at once:

¾ cup cold rice milk

Mix gently with a fork until most of the dry ingredients are moistened.

Gather into a ball until all loose pieces adhere. Tip out onto a lightly floured board. Roll out or pat the dough to about ½” thick, fold in half, roll out, and repeat about 5 times. Cut out rounds with a biscuit cutter, or cut square biscuits with a knife. Scraps can be rerolled gently into more biscuits. Try to keep from over-kneading to avoid tough biscuits.

Place on baking pan close together and bake for 10-14 minutes until golden brown on top. Serve hot with your favorite meal and toppings. Enjoy!

Blurb:

The Fourth of July is over, but for these summer lovers the fireworks have just begun.

An unexpected inheritance brings business consultant Christopher Gordon from Los Angeles to quaint Falk’s Bend. He’s carved a week from his demanding schedule to list his great-grandparents’ house for sale and explore his roots. However, disturbing family secrets and the sweet temptation of writer Margie Olsson derail his plans, challenging him to seize the elusive dream missing from his hectic life— love.

A recent brush with death shook Margie’s life, but not her dreams and she’s ready to move forward. Only, standing up to her loving, over-protective family isn’t easy. Helping Christopher explore the derelict mansion and unravel his grandmother’s mysterious past should be a harmless fun taste of independence. But when her experimental summer fling ignites into unexpected love, how can her small town dreams work with his big city life?

Excerpt:

Margie flushed, looking like she wanted to hush the woman, but she smiled. “I’m doing terrific. I had a fun time yesterday. Tootsie, I’d like you to meet Christopher Gordon. He owns the Falk house now. He’s Mrs. Falk’s great-grandson. Christopher, Tootsie Kennedy, owner of Southern Exposure.”

“I heard! So nice to meet you. Let me get you two a table. Indoors or the porch?”

Christopher nodded. “Margie? Which do you prefer?”

“The porch is always my first choice, even in the summer. I love the view.”

Tootsie gathered up two menus. “Follow me. If the heat’s too much out there for you, Margie honey, you can always move inside.”

The view of the peaceful river from the large screened-in deck was as great as promised. A heron glided in for a landing and posed to hunt for its meal. Dragonflies hovered and zoomed. After settling Margie in her chair, Christopher hung his jacket over his chair and loosened his tie. Ceiling fans cut the late day heat, but he should have dressed far more casually.

Tootsie took their drink orders and left them to study the menus, but as she disappeared into the main dining room they could hear her just fine. “Larry, Grace, you’ll never guess! Margie’s here with Reba Falk’s great-grandson!”

Margie blushed deeper and hid behind her menu, faintly muttering, “Whatever was I thinking?”

“Is there a problem?”

She peeped above her menu. “No, everything’s fine.”

Before they’d hardly had a chance to study the menu, a stout man with a gray pointed goatee strode up to their table carrying their drinks. “Margie! Look at you! How are you doing, darlin’?”

“I’m great, Larry.”

“I told Tootsie you’d be fine and here you are, pretty as a peach with roses in your cheeks again. Are you back to work yet?”

“Soon as Dad and Joe stop fussing over me.”

“Glad to hear.” He turned to Christopher. “Sorry, got excited there.” He held out his hand. “Larry Kennedy. Welcome to Falk’s Bend.”

“Christopher Gordon. Thanks. It’s been a pleasure so far.”

“Good. Good. I recommend the rib eye tonight if you’re in the mood for steak. Grace will take your order when you’re ready.”

Larry bustled off and a new flurry of cheerful exclamations burst between him and Tootsie from beyond at the bar. Their waitress, Grace, also gushed over how well Margie looked. Now he was completely curious. Margie kept her blushing face hidden behind the menu, until she had to hand it over. He went for the rib eye and Margie chose the roast chicken special.

“Nice folks. They seem really fond of you.”

“Yes. Ah, I suppose I should explain a little.” She glanced away at the river.

“Only if you want to.”

She took a deep breath and a delicate sip at her wine. “Well, it’s not a secret. A hazard of small town life where everyone knows you. Short version, I was really sick for a while last year. I had to take some time off and, as you can tell, folks worried. But I’m perfectly fine now, and I just want to get back to normal. I love my job at the restaurant and I’m ready to work, but my family is full of worrywarts and they’re taking longer to get past it than I am. I wish they’d relax. I’d honestly like to stop being the one everyone’s talking about.”

Margie appeared vibrantly healthy, but…Crap. He shoved a hand through his hair. “You’re really okay? I mean I had you in all that dust and heat today.” She wasn’t telling him everything, and it was none of his business…

“I’m perfectly fine.” She waved a dismissive hand. “Cross my heart.” She selected a biscuit and gave him a brilliant smile that totally derailed his thoughts for a moment.

He fumbled for a change of topic. “Do you like to cook? Did you ever want to be a chef?”

She sighed. He liked how all her emotions played across her face. “The chef gene skipped me. I mean, I’m not one of those people who can’t boil water. I can make decent meals. I’m good at canning. However, living with a family of chefs? Well, there’s a good reason I’m the hostess. Plus, at home, there’s always someone leaning over my shoulder telling me what to add or not add and someone else disagreeing. Giving in and handing them the spoon is just easier and saves my sanity. How about you? Do you cook? You should try a biscuit. They’re very good.”

Buy the Book:

Amazon.com (Print and Kindle):

http://amzn.com/B00HJDS3E6

The Wild Rose Press (Print and ebook): http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=191&products_id=5517

Barnes & Noble Nook:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/summertime-dream-babette-james/1119073773?ean=2940149283262

All Romance Ebooks:

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-summertimedream-1468219-149.htm

Meet Babette:BabetteJames pic

Babette James writes sweetly scorching contemporary romance and loves reading nail-biting tales with a satisfying happily ever after. When not dreaming up stories, she enjoys playing with new bread recipes and dabbling with paints. As a teacher, she loves encouraging new readers and writers as they discover their growing abilities. Her class cheers when it’s time for their spelling test! Babette lives in New Jersey with her wonderfully patient husband and extremely spoiled cats.

Find Babette:

Website: http://babettejames.com/

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/ltvyP

Twitter: http://twitter.com/BabetteJames

Facebook Profile: http://www.facebook.com/babette.james

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/BabetteJamesAuthor

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/118275338266952747490

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/babettejames

Thank you for joining us for another Romance Recipes! I hope you’ll stop by next week to meet another author, try a new recipe and pick up a new book!

 

 

 

