Tags

, , , ,

Bobbi Romans coverHello and welcome to Romance Recipes where I am happy to introduce you to a new author and a new recipe! Two of my favorite things! Today I am bringing you author, Bobbi Romans, and her recipe for Great Grandma Obaugh’s Cranberry Salad along with an introduction to her holiday romance, An American Holiday. Please join me in welcoming Bobbi and savor her recipe for Cranberry Salad as you read about her new book.

 

 

Great Grandma Obaugh’s Cranberry Salad

*make the night before*

(1)   Bag of raw cranberries (chopped)

(1)    Large Box of Cherry Jell-O (Made omitting 1 cup water)

(1)    Small Box Cherry Jell-O

(1)    Cup Sugar

(1)    Cup Walnuts or Pecans (Chopped)Bobbi Romans recipe pic

(1)    Cup Chopped Celery

(1)    Large can of Crushed Pineapple (heavy syrup)

(1)    Orange (grated with peel and all)

Dissolve Jell-O and cup of sugar in hot water omitting ½ the water boxes require. Set in fridge until ½ set.

In large bowl using hand chopper (if possible) not food processor, chop nuts, celery, and cranberries.

Once Jell-O is ½ set dump in all chopped ingredients, entire can (juice included) of crushed pineapple.

Wash and grate entire orange, peel too, into mixture.

Mix well and reset in refrigerator overnight.

Blurb:

Ahh, Thanksgiving… complete with ghosts of holidays past. Those being humiliating memories of last year’s revelry gone wild: jail cells, a tattoo and rose left on Kristi James pillow by someone she can’t remember.

Toss in two brothers who, while loving, had needled her with vivid imagery on what might have happened during that fateful rendezvous at the local HoJo’s. Seriously, what’s a girl to do? She’d run like hell from Harpers Ferry back to her apartment and job in Alexandria.

She’s praying this year’s holiday ends a bit more traditional. But between exploding turkey’s, cranberry fights, and the winter storm threatening to lock them all together for God only knew how long, she’s fairly certain her Norman Rockwell hopes have flown the coop.

Adding another layer to this casserole of disaster, the high school boyfriend—who’d cheated on her two days before prom—returns, claiming to have made a horrid mistake all those years prior.

Amid all this, what has her heart flip-flopping is catching her best friend Simon getting cozy with his latest girlfriend.

Thing is, she isn’t sure why its bothering her so badly.

Sometimes it takes coming home again… to discover how lost we’ve really been.

Excerpt:

Mom and Pop had turned my old room into a guest room for Max’s kids, two-year old Dakota and five-year old Drama. Normally they’d be curling into the bunk beds about now, rather than me using one for my luggage wondering how the hell I’d sleep on the slim mattress of the other. I’d grown quite used to my cushy California king with tons of sprawling room. Admittedly, though sometimes a bit lonesome. On the bright-side, I always had a cool spot on the bed.

I unpacked my clothes trying to decide how to dress for the night. Keep warm in jeans, fuzzy socks and boots or sex it up? How had Tom and Martha redone the place? Clubby or lodge-like?

I opted for dressing up. I wasn’t sure who I might run into and I’d heard through the grapevine, namely my good friend Darla that Jackson was back. Permanently it seemed.

The old flame who’d cheated on me. With Darla no less. While I’d long ago forgiven Darla, I’d yet to get past the need to rub into Jackson’s face what he’d missed out on. Not that I was anyone’s anything, but I wanted him to see me now grown and at least wonder over the loss. Wanted to see him lust for me and hopefully kick himself in the ass for being a total asshat.

So, I tried to ignore how damn cold I’d be as I donned the cream and gold mini dress with strappy Jimmy Choos.  I stepped back and admired the outfit in the full length mirror that still hung from my closet door. No I wasn’t a model, but the outfit and accessories did wonders for my average self and pale winter skin. Then I slapped on some concealer to my red chaffed chin.

I’d no sooner stepped into the hallway when Ethan rounded the corner from his prospective guest room. The guys room, formerly the real bunk bed room, had become Mom’s new sewing room with all the natural light the room provided which housed the guest daybed and trundle.

“Wow, a mini in November. Trying to get out of Thanksgiving by catching pneumonia?”

“Har har har, I think my legs can withstand the cold long enough to get in and out of the car.”

“Yeah okay, whatever,” he shook his head back in forth in apparent disapproval. “So, who are you trying to impress?” he asked as we headed downstairs to check if Max, who’d been stuck with the sofa, had changed yet.

Sure enough Max had changed, checked in with Cami, his wife, and was set to leave.

I really liked Cami and was disappointed to learn she’d been unable to come due to being on-call.

“We ready to get this show on the road?” He asked standing and grabbing his puffy military green winter coat.

“Yep, let’s go.” I turned to grab my jacket and caught the amused look Max shot Ethan.

“What?” I asked.

“You’re really are wearing that…uh, outfit out in the snow?”

“Look I already covered this with Ethan. I’m just going from the house to car, car to inn. I’ll be fine.” I grew irritated at having to keep explaining myself so I threw my jacket on and stormed out for the car. Well, tried to, if it hadn’t been for that first god forsaken icy step out the damn door.

Sucker was a doozy in stilettos. To say I made it to the car quickly was true. So was the fact I slid all the way there on my ass with the sounds of hysterical laughter right behind me and snow going where the sun didn’t shine.

Could either have offered me a hand up? No. Suddenly Max bolted back inside and when I finally regained my footing and asked Ethan where he took off too, Ethan managed to stifle his laughter long enough to inform me, the bathroom.

Perfect start to a night out. Geez. maybe they were right and I really was a walking talking booby trap of chaos.

Buy the book: 

Meet Bobbi:Bobbi Romans pic

Author Bobbi Romans born and raised in the suburbs of D.C, now resides in the south with Prince Charming and her overly large, nutty family. Currently, Bobbi is hiding from her loud family in a closet as she taps away the next installment in the Swamp Magic series.

Little known facts: She’s been on the Gordon Elliot show, married two couples and has owned ferrets, crawdads, rats, flying squirrels and a barnyard of other animals/critters.

Connect with Bobbi:

FB: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100006862743829

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BobbiRomans

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6438996.Bobbi_Romans

Website: www.bobbiromans.com

****GIVEAWAY****

As a special treat, Bobbi is giving away (2) Copies of An American Holiday so be sure to leave your email so she can contact you if you win!

Thank you for joining us for another Romance Recipes! I hope you’ll stop by next week to meet another author, try a new recipe and pick up a new book!

