Tags

, , , , ,

SoulsEntwined_Anne B. Cole805x1275Hello and welcome to Romance Recipes where I am happy to introduce you to a new author and a new recipe! Two of my favorite things! Today I am bringing you author, Anne B. Cole, and her recipes for Chocolate Chip Cookies and Chocolate Truffles along with an introduction to her book, Souls Entwined. Please join me in welcoming Anne and savor her recipes for cookies and truffles as you read about her new book!

Thanks Jennifer for hosting me today! I love to find new recipes or put a twist on an old recipe.

Chocolate chips have always been my favorite. Chocolate chip pancakes, muffins, cupcakes, waffles, cookies—you name it, I put chocolate chips in it. Even on my oatmeal! I remember sneaking chips straight from the bag when I was a child. I’d run up to my room to eat them before they melted in my little hands. I cannot go through a day without the scrumptious, tiny little bits of chocolate in something that I eat!

chocolate chips

When it came to writing my sweet romantic suspense, Souls Entwined, I gave my love for chocolate chips to Gretta.

Here’s a blurb from Souls Entwined.

A tree crashes upon two strangers. Time stands still. A cursed family heirloom catapults eighteen-year-old Gretta Dobbs back in time with Sam Daggett, who reluctantly agrees to help despite an instant infatuation with her. Their souls entwine within the bodies of young lovers on a Greek island in 1829, where they begin to unravel the mysteries behind Gretta’s ring all while avoiding revenge-seeking pirates. Can Gretta and Sam find the secrets needed to save her from an afterlife in purgatory? Or will they become trapped in the past, continuing the evil cycle of the ring’s curse?

Here’s a snippet from chapter 12… when Gretta narrowly escapes from Purgatory-In-Taratrus.

Gretta’s eyes focused on his face, merely inches away.

Sam kissed the top of her head, cradling her protectively. “We’re going home. I won’t let them take you to Purgatory-In-Tartarus again.”

She struggled against his hold as intense fear returned to her eyes. Sam turned to Roxana and Katarina, who watched with concern.

“Don’t leave me—” her words broke off into sobs.

“It’s okay. I won’t let go.” Sam tried to sound reassuring but felt terrified. He wondered what had happened to them. “Do you feel this?” He touched her face, wiping away tears.

“Don’t go, please.”

“I’m right here.” He shifted her in his lap, positioning her face to the sun. She began to nod off. He had to keep her talking. “What’s your middle name?”

“Lucille, my grandmother’s name. My God, she’s going there when she dies.” Gretta’s eyes clouded over.

“Favorite food? Mine’s apple pie. Tell me yours.” Sam shook her hard in desperation.

“Chocolate chip cookie dough.”

“Ice cream?”

“No, the dough.” Her eyes focused then darted away as if she was embarrassed.

“You can get sick eating raw dough,” Sam teased.

Gretta turned toward him, shivering. “I’ll take my ch-chances.” She nestled into his chest.

Tightening his grip on her, Sam gazed at Roxana. She, too, appeared better. Gretta’s trembling ceased. With a shaky hand, he touched her cheek. Warm. Sam gently embraced her, burying his face in her curly hair. Relief swept through him as she responded with a little hug.

I’m excited to announce the sequel to Souls Entwined will be released on Amazon summer 2015. Souls Estranged picks up right where Souls Entwined left off. Here’s a sneak peak at the blurb…

Souls Estranged: Book II of The Souls Trilogy

Back from their adventures in Souls Entwined, Sam Daggett begins a new relationship with Gretta Dobbs, whose memories of their time traveling experience together have been erased. Determined to never leave her again, Sam vows to help Gretta, despite the bad luck curse on her heirloom ring. Within hours of their return, tragedy strikes.

As Sam becomes the third victim of the bad luck curse, Gretta’s memories of her time spent in the past begin to return. Unable to remember more than snippets, she realizes that anyone close to her, anyone she loves is in grave danger. In order to keep Sam and her family safe, she flees in the middle of the night.

Finding the perfect summer job in the back hills of Virginia, Gretta unknowingly crosses paths with a serial killer. With guidance from ancestral spirits, Roxana and Katarina, Sam desperately attempts to find Gretta before the curse strikes again.

I loved writing the second book and had it half written before Souls Entwined was contracted. I needed to write about Sam and Gretta in their own time since most of the first book dealt with them being entwined in the past. With the help of fellow SMP author, Peter Darley, I learned the art of writing cliff hangers. Souls Estranged is full of them and I’m very excited about its release this summer.

The last book of the series, Souls Endure, will combine Sam and Gretta’s real life with a little time travel into the past. I’m currently writing this book and hope to have a 2016 release.

Gretta’s love for chocolate chip cookies dough reappears in the second book with a ‘cookie dough kiss’. Since I’m currently in the edit process I cannot include an excerpt…how about a recipe?

My daughters and I have tweaked the standard recipe found on the back of the chocolate chip bag. These cookies are softer and chewier than traditional chocolate chip cookies.

I know about the dangers of consuming raw eggs, so bake these cookies completely before consuming!

Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 ¼ cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp saltchocolate chip cookies

1 cup Crisco shortening

¾ cup granulated sugar

¾ cup light brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 cups Hershey’s chocolate Chips (I like the special dark ones!)

-Heat oven to 350 degrees F.

-Stir together the first three ingredients.

-In a separate bowl, cream the shortening, sugars, vanilla and eggs.

-Gradually add in the flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by heaping teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes. The cookies will be slightly gooey, but will harden upon cooling—if they last that longJ

(If you want to just eat the dough… omit the eggs and add ¾ cup applesauce.)

I wanted to find a recipe that would satisfy Gretta’s cravings for cookie dough. I searched and found this on at the Better Homes and Gardens site.

I made these wonderful no bake chocolate chip cookie dough ball truffles in early December and received 3 thumbs up from my teens (who are extremely picky!)

Chocolate Chip-Cookie Dough Truffles

Ingredients

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate pieces

4 ounces dark chocolate or semisweet chocolate, chopped

4 ounces chocolate-flavor candy coating, chopped

1 tablespoon shortening

Directions

  • Line a 15x10x1-inch baking pan with waxed paper; set aside. In a medium bowl beat butter, brown sugar, and vanilla with an electric mixer on medium speed until combined. Beat in flour just until combined. Stir in chocolate pieces. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place on prepared baking pan. Cover; freeze about 30 minutes or until firm.
  • Meanwhile, in a small saucepan heat chopped chocolate, candy coating, and shortening over low heat, stirring until melted and smooth. Remove from heat.
  • Line a baking sheet with waxed paper. Using a fork, dip balls into chocolate mixture, allowing excess chocolate mixture to drip back into saucepan. Place dipped balls on the baking sheet. Let stand or chill about 30 minutes or until set. Lightly drizzle with the remaining melted chocolate mixture.

To Store:

Place truffles in a single layer in an airtight container; cover. Store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

This recipe makes about 26 truffles.

Here’s a picture of my truffles!

Chocoloate chip truffles

I hope you enjoy the recipes and my book.

Meet Anne:pic

Souls Entwined is Anne B. Cole’s debut release combining sweet romantic suspense, time travel, and paranormal elements in a novel attractive to a wide range of readers.

In addition to writing, Anne teaches preschool and is raising three very active teenagers with her husband of twenty-two years A lover of the outdoors, who recently found out she is allergic to bee stings and poison ivy, Anne perseveres in her passions.

With an Education degree from Penn State University, Anne began her teaching career in elementary schools. A move to Indiana and becoming a mom of three kids in three and a half years sparked her interest in teaching preschool where she has been for the last ten years.

Anne began writing in 2010 when she realized she didn’t have a book to read during a very long swim meet. With over ten hours of sitting in the stands, she decided to make the best of it and flipped over the heat sheet. Ideas for a book were jotted down and the outline of Souls Entwined was born. Anne’s writing hobby turned into an addiction!

The Souls Trilogy continues this summer with Souls Estranged. Anne is currently writing the final book in the trilogy, Souls Endure with a tentative release date of 2016.

Connecting preschool teaching with her writing, Anne has written a Children’s Picture book and is in the process of possible publication. Check out her blog at www.annebcole.com for preschool activities, new author interviews, and updates on her writing. Anne loves to hear from her readers so feel free to comment on her website or write a short review of Souls Entwined on Amazon.com.

Connect with Anne:

Check out my website for updates on Souls Estranged.

You can follow my blog at http://www.annebcole.com/blog

And find me on Twitter @AnneBCole

And Facebook Anne B. Cole

Buy the Book:

Souls Entwined is available NOW (in e-book format) on Amazon. 

For those who prefer holding a real book in hand, the Paperback edition of Souls Entwined is now available.

Thanks, Jennifer for hosting me today!

***GIVE-A-WAY***

I will be giving away e-copies of Souls Entwined from Amazon.com to two random commenters. Check back on this post next week for the winners.

Thank you for joining us for another Romance Recipes! I hope you’ll stop by next week to meet another author, try a new recipe and pick up a new book!

 

